Thread: No Imputed Righteousness In Augustine

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    56 Posts

No Imputed Righteousness In Augustine

I have been affirming for many years that Augustine taught NO doctrine of the imputed RIGHTEOUSNESS of Christ to the elect but ONLY a doctrine of the immediate imputation of Adam's sin to all mankind. This is the ONLY doctrine of imputation that Gus affirmed.

Please read the following article:

http://www.understandingthebible.org/Augustine's_Mistake_and_Luther's_Rediscovery.htm

Comments?
    I got four things to live by: don't say nothin' that will hurt anybody; don't give advice--no one will take it anyway; don't complain; don't explain. Walter Scott

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Re: No Imputed Righteousness In Augustine

Faith is a gift of God to His elect sheep, it, in and of itself is a "fruit of the Spirit", that is the Spirit of regeneration like in Titus 3:4-6, so that faith is expressed by one who has been born again, because he was already justified. So "Faith" is counted/credited/imputed as righteousness to a believer because he was already Justified by the works of Jesus Christ. Christ's work and Christ's work alone is the foundation and source of every elect saint's Justification, and is grounds for being "born again" a "new creation", so here is how Rom. 5:1 is puctually correct.
    Rom 5:1, (WEB), Being therefore justified, by faith we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ; Rom 5:8-11, (WEB)
    But God commends his own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. Much more then, being now justified by his blood, we will be saved from God's wrath through him.